Procrastination City

Hello everyone! Happy weekend. In an effort to procrastinate hardcore on my MA thesis that is due this week, I wanted to share some thoughts with you about a wave of blogs I have recently discovered slash become obsessed with.

First off, let me update you on my thesis crapola. As many of you know I am finishing up a MA at NYU, a school that I LOATHE and wish I hadn’t paid buckets of money for, but eh, what can you do? Too late to go back now… Nonetheless, I discovered that in order to turn it in on this upcoming Friday, I had to turn in a final copy to my advisor on MONDAY. That’s right, I just subtracted 5 days off of my completion time that I thought I had. Which consequently turned me into a bit of a raving lunatic over the weekend. As I try and you know, get a job, I also am trying to graduate from a very difficult program. Stress plus me is not a pretty picture.

Now the big question is, should I go to my graduation or not? I am leaning toward not – just because I don’t really know anyone in the program and don’t want to spend $68 to listen to boring people talk at Avery Fisher Hall.

What do you think – would you go to your graduation if you didn’t like your program very much?

However, in the past week or two I have been writing the thesis and subsequently procrastinating like crazy. I have found this whole world in the blogesphere devoted to “Healthy Living Blogs.” I have to admit, at first I thought they were just a way for people with eating disorders to chronicle and take pictures of literally everything they eat during the day in an attempt to reach some sort of weight loss goal, but my friend and fellow blogger The Pancake Girl has one of these blogs and after reading hers and some of the others that she links to I have to say I have changed my mind. As I attempt to become a long distance runner I totally see why these blogs are so appealing. They have great ideas and recipes, and frankly make me feel really shitty because I NEVER eat that well. Literally Never.

Seriously if I had a blog that chronicled everything I ate I don’t think I could ever leave the house based on humiliation alone. For reals it would be full of regrets, like I regret eating those pop tarts in bed, only because they left a mess, not because it’s gross. I know I already posted about how I am a fat kid trapped in this body, but SRSLY people – I never realized it until I started obsessively reading other peoples blogs about their oats and salads and love of vegetables.

I just don’t like vegetables all that much – give me a chemically enhanced marshmallow creature any day.

Don’t get me wrong, I will eat a salad for lunch or dinner every once in a while (whilst the fat girl screams and cries because I don’t let her eat) but it never feels like enough food. I ate a great salad the other night for dinner and surprise surprise two hours later I was STARVING yo. I believe in carbs, in fat, in fast food, in candy and sweets. I also believe in exercise and know that it doesn’t balance out in any way (I have learned from these foodie blogs) so I do attempt to eat well. Attempt.

So as I have been obsessively reading these healthy living blogs I realize that I am not a healthy person. I run, and that’s about it. I drink like ten cups of coffee a day, I love red wine and chocolate and laying on the couch all day watching the Food Network. (I know, TMI) Maybe one of these days I will get up off my lazy ass and actually try to be healthy.

Until then I am going to continue to get my ass handed to me by my Master’s thesis and I hope to post more as soon as I turn it in TOMORROW!

2 Responses

  1. Hahah I’m so glad my posts on things like pancakes and giant batches of chocolate cookies have sparked your interest.. I’m sad you hate NYU so much though hun- I actually really liked my program (mostly bc of the profs/people though).

  2. i actually took a class in the journalism grad dept with Shimon Dotan and it was probably the best class at NYU. The people were so nice and the prof was amazing! Hope you are doing well in DC!

Leave a comment