Nerdy Nights

Sorry I haven’t been blogging much, I’ve had a pretty busy weekend/beginning of the week thanks to job interviews, homework, oh and did I mention? It was Victor’s birthday this weekend. Being the greatest fiance in the world – I got him a great present. My thought was, since Victor proposed a few months ago and got me this sweet diamond ring I would get him a really great birthday present. I know he wasn’t too happy to be turning 24. I discovered from a friend of mine that there was an event on his birthday this year at Radio City Music Hall. I saved some monies and bought tickets to see a screening of The Lord of The Rings – The Fellowship of the Ring while an orchestra and choir performed the score. Basically everything he could have ever wanted.

Radio City!

Radio City!

I have to admit something to you, dear blog readers out there. I had never seen the movie before. You see, I read all the books in high school (thanks Mr. Modarelli – not) and they just aren’t my thing. I enjoy Harry Potter a LOT, but I think it’s because Harry was a normal kid at first. When, like Mr. Tolkein did, a world is created outside of any familiar world to me, I have little to no interest in it. Middle Earth? Just not as cool as Hogwarts.

This isn’t to say I didn’t have a great time, however! We got to meet a real Hobbit (or a guy who genuinely thought he was one):

Bilbo?

Bilbo?

And I got to see the inside of radio city music hall. Which was incredibly beautiful:

pretty!

pretty!

And we had great seats:

illegal photograph taking...we are stealth

illegal photograph taking...we are stealth

Overall I think we had a great time, I thoroughly enjoyed the orchestral portion of the show, having grown up with a parent that was a musician, I am utterly captivated by watching the orchestra. It made me appreciate just how amazing the score of that movie really is. Good going!

However, I must note that it was by far the nerdiest thing I have ever been to. Seriously, people in the audience were cheering at specific parts of the movie that were of great importance. And I must admit parts of it were pretty badass. But Orcs are gross. And I don’t like them very much. Did I mention that literally all the women in the audience screamed at the top of their lungs when Orlando Bloom came on screen. It made me wonder: is that what going to see a Twilight movie is like? I shudder to wonder…

Did I mention that Elijah Wood and Billy Boyd showed up? Yeah, that was pretty awesome.

But, as we were leaving I saw a horrific sight:

Noooooo!!!!!

Noooooo!!!!!

The ice rink is back – making it officially WINTER here. That plus the 45 degree weather is not a good sign for the winter to come. Expect much complaining from this west coaster!

3 Responses

  1. Hey 45 degrees isn’t that bad. I got up to go to work last Sunday and my hair froze instantly when I walked outside, it was 9 degrees. I am so scared for winter.

  2. That is FAN-TAS-TIC! I am glad you had a great time, and what an awesome gift!

    You make me nerd proud…now I need to work on getting a girl who nerd appreciates me as well.

    Anydoodles, if you have time this weekend come witness some intense nerdery at Big Apple Con. If not, I will hopefully see you for dinner, while hopefully remembering to bring stuff for you sent by my bubbe.

  3. The rink is open? Already?! Oh geeez… Radio City is so fun, though, isn’t it? Thanks for your kind words about my foot, ps.

Leave a comment